All Classes are now located at The Shooters’ Club Range in Harahan.
The Shooters’ Club can assist you in obtaining a concealed handgun permit for the State of Louisiana. We offer the required training and assistance needed for proper permit application submittal.
The average total price for completing the Louisiana application for a four-year permit is around $250. That is around $62 per year. The total price consists of $100 for permit fees ($25./yr.), $95 for training fees, $10.50 for range qualification, and an estimated $45 for paperwork fees (which include: notary, fingerprints, and passport picture.) Some applicants may notice their fees increased because of their prior state residency, background history, requests for court records, etc. We will help all of our concealed carry students with their individual application process on class day.
To get started, you must first request an application package from the Louisiana Dept. of Public Safety. Simply call 225-925-4867 Mon. - Fri., 9am - 4pm, and request an application to carry a concealed handgun. Or you may download an application from lsp.org.
Once you have your application, you may try to complete the sections you can understand. Your instructor will help you with any part you need help with. Now you are ready to pick a Saturday for class.
The class is designed to cover all Basic Pistol and Concealed Carry instruction in a 9 hour time frame (9hrs. is the minimum class time required by LA for permit qualification.) Currently, our class is offered every Saturday at 11:00am and ends around 8:00pm with open registration starting at 10:30am. There is no need to call to schedule, just show up at The Shooters’ Club in Harahan at 10:30am to register for that day. Class size is usually small (less than 12 students) to help maximize personal attention from the instructor.
Groups of 5 or more students that register to take a class together on the same day and time may be eligible for group discounts. Group classes are usually scheduled directly with the instructor. Group classes are not offered on Saturdays. Please contact the instructor for more info (E-mail instructor).
What to bring with you on class day:
- Application for Concealed Carry Permit from Louisiana State.
- Your handgun and 36 rounds of ammo (also available for purchase before class)
- Your patience, attention, and questions.
- Registration and payment will be completed on your selected Saturday class day before class begins at 10:30am.
Summary of Concealed Permit Class Information:
COST: REQUIRED: $95.00 for class and $10.50 for range qualification. OPTIONAL: $25.00 for fingerprints and passport picture, and $20.00 for notary work. PAYMENT OPTIONS: Cash, credit card, or debit card for every service except notary. Notary accepts cash and check only.
CLASS DAYS: Every Saturday
CLASS LENGTH: Between 9 and 10 hours total.
CLASS TIMES: 1-Day; 11:00am - 8:00pm
Renewal Class for Current Permit Holders
We currently offer the state-required renewal class every Saturday at 10:00 am. Preregistration is not required. Just pick a Saturday and show up at 10:00am for registration. The renewal class will take around two hours to complete. The class fees include $55 for class, $10.50 for range qualification and an optional passport picture is available for $5. We will also make every effort to have a Notary on site to offer notarization for the three affidavits in your application for a $20 fee.
Call for more info: 504-733-7695
Concealed Carry web site links:
Louisiana State Police Office of Public Safety & Corrections has all of the information about the Louisiana concealed handgun permit.
Rules and Laws for LA Concealed Carry - Required reading.
Florida State’s Concealed Handgun Permit Information.